This feature ensures that if a phone is stolen or reset without permission, it cannot be used without entering the previously linked Google account details. While this is great for security, sometimes it becomes a headache for genuine users too. For example, if you reset your phone and forget your Gmail ID or p****word, your device gets locked. You cannot move past the verification screen, and the phone becomes useless.